For your next break, think about Le Barbouquin 

Looking for an incomparable place for your next brunch? Don’t go further, La mâle proposes you the Barbouquin! Barbouquin !

la-male-d-effeenne-barbouquin-les-carnets-découverte-devanture

After a stint in the world of literature and a passion for street art, it was naturally that Yohanna Uzan, owner of the café, decided to open a café this place. A place combining books and a gourmet break that welcomes you every day excepted on Tuesday.

la-male-d-effeenne-barbouquin-les-carnets-découverte-livres

Located in the Belleville district, the former post office relay has been transformed into an incomparable place that we all want to keep secret. A small 40m2 nugget with vintage decoration and various influences creating a cocoon far from Paris where we would spend hours reading the many second-hand books lining the walls. 

la-male-d-effeenne-barbouquin-les-carnets-découverte-librairie

Let yourself be surprised by the program offered by the place! Indeed, Barbouquin offers exhibitions or even coffee-poetry but don't ask when, because Yohanna doesn't like regular things and likes to surprise visitors... 

Sandrine Ha

For the new school year, La mâle d'effeenne offers a small selection of books for the new school year.

  1. La maison de Emma Becker - "I always thought I was writing about men. Before I realized I only write about women. About being one. Writing about whores, who are paid to be women, who are really women, who are just that; writing about the absolute nakedness of this condition is like examining my sex under a microscope. And I feel the same fascination as a laboratory technician looking at cells essential to any form of life."
  2. Soit de Amélie Nothomb - "To feel thirsty you have to be alive. »
  3. Le bal des folles de Victoria Mas - Every year, in mid-Lent, there is a very strange Bal des Folles.  For one evening, All Paris clings to waltz and polka tunes with women dressed as colombines, gypsies, zouaves and other musketeers. Spread over two rooms - on the one hand the idiots and the epileptics; on the other hand the hysterical, the crazy and the maniacs - this ball is actually one of Charcot's last experiments, wishing to make women like the others sick at the Salpetrière. Among them, Eugénie, Louise and Geneviève, whose journey Victoria Mas traces, in this first novel, which exposes the female condition in the 19th century.

Le Barbouquin 

1 rue Denoyez

75020 Paris

09 84 32 13 21

Please follow and like us:

Pour votre prochaine pause, pensez au Barbouquin 

A la recherche d’un endroit incomparable pour votre prochain brunch ? Ne cherchez plus, La mâle vous propose le Barbouquin !

la-male-d-effeenne-barbouquin-les-carnets-découverte-devanture

Après un passage dans le monde de la littérature et passionnée par le street art, c’est tout naturellement que Yohanna Uzan, propriétaire du café, a décidé d’ouvrir un café à cet emplacement précis. Un lieu mêlant livres et pause gourmande qui vous accueille tous les jours sauf le mardi.

la-male-d-effeenne-barbouquin-les-carnets-découverte-livres

Situé dans le quartier de Belleville, l’ancien relais de poste s’est transformé en un lieu incomparable que nous souhaitons tous garder secret. Une petite pépite de 40m2 à la décoration vintage avec diverses influences créant un cocon hors de Paris où nous resterions des heures à bouquiner les nombreux bouquins d’occasion tapissant les murs. 

la-male-d-effeenne-barbouquin-les-carnets-découverte-librairie

Laissez vous surprendre par le programme que propose le lieu ! En effet, le Barbouquin propose des expositions ou encore des café-poésie mais ne demandez pas quand, car Yohanna n’aime pas les choses régulières et aime à surprendre les visiteurs… 

Sandrine Ha

Pour la rentrée, La mâle d’effeenne vous propose a petite sélection de livres pour la rentrée.

  1. La maison de Emma Becker – «J’ai toujours cru que j’écrivais sur les hommes. Avant de m’apercevoir que je n’écris que sur les femmes. Sur le fait d’en être une. Écrire sur les putes, qui sont payées pour être des femmes, qui sont vraiment des femmes, qui ne sont que ça ; écrire sur la nudité absolue de cette condition, c’est comme examiner mon sexe sous un microscope. Et j’en éprouve la même fascination qu’un laborantin regardant des cellules essentielles à toute forme de vie.»
  2. Soit de Amélie Nothomb – « Pour éprouver la soif il faut être vivant. »
  3. Le bal des folles de Victoria Mas – Chaque année, à la mi-carême, se tient un très étrange Bal des Folles.  Le temps d’une soirée, le Tout-Paris s’encanaille sur des airs de valse et de polka en compagnie de femmes déguisées en colombines, gitanes, zouaves et autres mousquetaires. Réparti sur deux salles – d’un côté les idiotes et les épileptiques ; de l’autre les hystériques, les folles et les maniaques – ce bal est en réalité l’une des dernières expérimentations de Charcot, désireux de faire des malades de la Salpêtrière des femmes comme les autres. Parmi elles, Eugénie, Louise et Geneviève, dont Victoria Mas retrace le parcours heurté, dans ce premier roman qui met à nu la condition féminine au XIXe siècle.

Le Barbouquin 

1 rue Denoyez

75020 Paris

09 84 32 13 21

Please follow and like us: